The Silent House
Designed in 1912. by Arch. Kiro Marichkov, the house was owned by a famous cavalry general.
Born in the picturesque town of Elena on June 10, 1879, general Alexander Kissyov graduated from the military school in Sofia, after which he participated in the Inter-Allied War as chief of staff of two armies, in the First World War (1915-1918), where he was chief of the Burgas Control point, and in the war with Romania in 1916. is the Chief of Staff of the Equestrian Division.
Over the coming decades, Kisyov became Chief of the Cavalry School, commander of the 1st Infantry Brigade, and from 1919 to 1930. – Head of the gendarmerie. Between January 31, 1931 and May 9, 1934, Alexander Kissyov was appointed Minister of War, immediately after which he was promoted to General of the Cavalry. Among other things, the former owner of this home was awarded the following prestigious orders: “For Courage”, “St. Alexander, for Military Merit, and with the German Order of the Iron Cross.
The house has been uninhabited for years and it is unknown why and how it has lost its former status of protected property and a “cultural monument”.
